11th Workshop on Modeling and Simulation of Cyber-Physical Energy Systems

San Antonio, Texas, USA, May 9, 2023

The workshop will be held as part of the Cyber-Physical Systems and Internet-of-Things Week 2023.

Technically co-sponsored by the IEEE Industrial Electronics Society

Workshop chairs:

Peter Palensky (TU Delft, The Netherlands)
Anurag Srivastava (West Virginia University, USA)

Program committee chair

Edmund Widl (AIT, Austria)


Automation and digitalization have become important topics in the energy sector in recent years, as modern energy systems increasingly rely on communication and information technology to combine smart controls with hardware infrastructure. With the emergence of cyber-physical systems (CPS) as a transdisciplinary field, such modern energy systems can be classified as cyber-physical energy systems (CPES), integrating the related research and development within a broader scope.
An important aspect of the research and development related to CPS is to bridge the gap between the traditional engineering domains and computer science. This is especially true for CPES, where the related engineering domains have in the past come up with proven and reliable methods for designing even large and complex systems. However, existing modeling and simulation tools still struggle to cover all aspects of CPES. Hence, a combination of universal modeling languages and established, domain-specific tools (like grid simulators and telecommunication simulators) is necessary. New methods, tools and algorithms are needed that are compact, computationally inexpensive, potentially self-organizing and intrinsically stable if applied to real energy systems.

During the workshop, a dedicated session for demos is foreseen. We encourage tool developers (with industrial as well as academic background) to apply for a slot in this session. Please contact the workshop organizers to get in touch.

This workshop brings together researchers and industrialists to exchange ideas and newest research results on the following (not exhaustive) list of topics:

  • Hybrid modeling and simulation
  • Co-Simulation of multi-domain systems
  • Ontologies for CPES
  • Applications of CPES
  • Distributed algorithms and control
  • Formal languages for CPES
  • Smart Grid and Smart Cities modeling
  • Design of simulations/experiments for CPES
  • Data generation using CPES simulation for big data analytics

Workshop Schedule

9:00 AM Opening
9:10 AM Keynote: Interaction Variables Based Modeling and Simulations of Energy Dynamics
Marija Ilic (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, MA, USA)
10:00 AM Break
10:30 AM M. Meiser, B. Duppe, I. Zinnikus: SynTiSeD - Synthetic Time Series Data Generator
10:45 AM M. M. Hussain, S. Basumallik, S. Kidder, A. Srivastava: CPGrid-OT: Cyber-Power Data Generation using Real-time Reconfigurable Testbed for Resiliency
11:00 AM B. Hyder, A. Ahmed, P. Thekkumparambath, T. Edgar, S. Niddodi: Leveraging High-Fidelity Datasets for Machine Learning-based Anomaly Detection in Smart Grids
11:15 AM Tutorial: Everything you always wanted to know about SysMD
Johannes Koch (TU Kaiserslautern, Germany)
12:00 PM Lunch
1:30 PM F. Fachini, A. Pigott, G. Laera, T. Bogodorova, L. Vanfretti, K. Baker: Developing a Campus Microgrid Model utilizing Modelica and the OpenIPSL Library
1:45 PM K. Warns, A. U. A. Shah, M. Aguilera, J. Kim, L. Vanfretti, H. G. Kang: Multi-domain Modeling of a Steam Power Plant with Power Grid
2:00 PM A. U. A. Shah, K. Warns, J. Kim, M. Aguilera, L. Vanfretti, H. G. Kang: Nuclear Power System-Level Modeling and Simulation- Comparing Thermal Library Suites
2:15 PM Tutorial: Getting Started with Power System Modeling using Modelica and the OpenIPSL Library
Luigi Vanfretti (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, NY, USA)
3:00 PM Break
3:30 PM B. Wiegel, T. Steffen, D. Babazadeh, C. Becker: Towards a more comprehensive open-source model for interdisciplinary smart integrated energy systems
3:45 PM M. Ilic, M. Kosanic: Distributed algorithm for simulating dynamic interactions within a general cyber-physical system
4:00 PM C. van Vledder, J. L. Rueda Torres, A. Stefanov, P. Palensky, O. Anaya-Lara, B. Kruimer, F. Gonzalez-Longatt: Modelling and Eigenanalysis of Sub-synchronous Oscillations Excited by Large Wind Power Plants
4:15 PM K. Nelson, P. Moura, J. Mohammadi: EVs and ERCOT: Foundations for Modeling Future Adoption Scenarios and Grid Implications
4:30 PM H. K. R. M, V. Venkata Gopala Krishnan: Graph Theoretic Approach for Decentralized Control Architecture of Cyber Physical Smart Grid
4:45 PM D. Vereno, A. Khodaei, C. Neureiter, S. Lehnhoff: Exploiting Quantum Power Flow in Smart Grid Co-Simulation
5:00 PM Closing

Paper submissions

Submitted papers are peer-reviewed by at least 3 reviewers. Workshop language is English. Contributions on work in progress are welcome.

Submitted papers are required to comply with the guidelines for IEEE conference manuscripts and must not exceed 6 pages in length. Submissions are handled via the EasyChair submission system.

Accepted and presented papers will be submitted to IEEE Xplore, subject to final approval by the conference committee and IEEE.

Important dates, links, and resources

  • Full paper submission deadline: February 26, 2023
  • Notification deadline: March 20, 2023
  • Final paper submission deadline: April 2, 2023
  • Workshop date: May 9, 2023

Workshop Registration

Download Call for Papers

Paper guidelines and templates


Program Committee

Davood Babazadeh (TU Hamburg, Germany)

Antonio De Paola (JRC Ispra, Italy)

Thomas Edgar (PNNL, USA)

Wilfried Elmenreich (University of Klagenfurt, Austria)

Christoph Grimm (TU Kaiserslautern, Germany)

Qing-Long Han (Swinburne University of Technology, Australia)

Wolfgang Kastner (TU Vienna, Austria)

Sebastian Lehnhoff (OFFIS, Germany)

Yan Liu (Concordia University, Canada)

Antonello Monti (RWTH Aachen University, Germany)

Chuma Francis Mugombozi (IREQ, Canada)

Mohammad Shahidehpour (Illinois Institute of Technology, USA)

Pierluigi Siano (University of Salerno, Italy)

Luigi Vanfretti (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, USA)

Gregor Verbic (University of Sydney, Australia)

Qianwen Xu (KTH, Sweden)

Mengmeng Yu (Nestfield, South Korea)