8th Workshop on Modeling and Simulation of Cyber-Physical Energy Systems

Virtual Workshop, online from April 21, 2020

The workshop was selected to be held as part of the Cyber-Physical Systems and Internet-of-Things Week 2020.
Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the workshop will be hosted as virtual event

The IEEE Industrial Electronics Society is technical co-sponsor of this workshop.

Workshop chairs:

Peter Palensky (TU Delft, The Netherlands)
Anurag Srivastava (Washington State University, USA)

Local arrangement chair:

Qing-Long Han (Swinburne Univ. of Technology, Australia)
Gregor Verbic (University of Sydney, Australia)


Automation and digitalization have become important topics in the energy sector in recent years, as modern energy systems increasingly rely on communication and information technology to combine smart controls with hardware infrastructure. With the emergence of cyber–physical systems (CPS) as a transdisciplinary field, such modern energy systems can be classified as cyber–physical energy systems (CPES), integrating the related research and development within a broader scope.
An important aspect of the research and development related to CPS is to bridge the gap between the traditional engineering domains and computer science. This is especially true for CPES, where the related engineering domains have in the past come up with proven and reliable methods for designing even large and complex systems. However, existing modeling and simulation tools still struggle to cover all aspects of CPES. Hence, a combination of universal modeling languages and established, domain-specific tools (like grid simulators and telecommunication simulators) is necessary. New methods, tools and algorithms are needed that are compact, computationally inexpensive, potentially self-organizing and intrinsically stable if applied to real energy systems.

During the workshop, a dedicated session for demos is foreseen. We encourage tool developers (with industrial as well as academic background) to apply for a slot in this session. Please contact the workshop organizers to get in touch.

This workshop brings together researchers and industrialists to exchange ideas and newest research results on the following (not exhaustive) list of topics:

  • Hybrid modeling and simulation
  • Co-Simulation of multi-domain systems
  • Ontologies for energy systems
  • Applications of cyber-physical energy systems
  • Distributed algorithms and control
  • Standards in interfacing components
  • Formal languages for energy systems
  • Smart Grid modeling
  • Smart Cities modeling
  • Design of simulations/experiments

Paper submissions

Submitted papers are peer-reviewed by at least 3 reviewers. Workshop language is English. Contributions on work in progress are welcome.

Submitted papers are required to comply with the guidelines for IEEE conference manuscripts and must not exceed 6 pages in length. Submissions are handled via the Easy Chair submission system.

Accepted and presented papers will be submitted to IEEE Xplore, subject to final approval by the conference committee and IEEE.

Contributions to the virtual workshop have to be prepared and shared via Loom, see the instructions.

Important dates, links, and resources

  • Full paper submission deadline: 09 February 2020
  • Notification deadline: 28 February 2020
  • Final paper submission deadline: 15 March 2020
  • Virtual workshop presentation submission: 14 April 2020
  • Virtual workshop online release: 21 April 2020

Download Call for Papers

Paper guidelines and templates

Submit your PDF (max. 6 pages)

Virtual workshop

Virtual workshop instructions


Program Committee Chair

Edmund Widl (AIT, Austria)

Program Committee

Thomas Edgar (PNNL, USA)

Christoph Grimm (TU Kaiserslautern, Germany)

Seung Ho Hong (Hanyang University, South Korea)

Wolfgang Kastner (TU Vienna, Austria)

Sebastian Lehnhoff (OFFIS, Germany)

Yan Liu (Concordia University, Canada)

Antonello Monti (RWTH Aachen, Germany)

Chuma Francis Mugombozi (IREQ/Hydro-Québec, Canada)

Ming Ni (NARI Group Corporation, China)

Hiroaki Nishi (Keio University, Japan)

Bryan Palmintier (NREL, USA)

Mohammad Shahidehpour (Illinois Institute of Technology, USA)

Pierluigi Siano (University of Salerno, Italy)

Alfonso Valdes (University of Illinois, USA)

Luigi Vanfretti (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, USA)

Xiaoyu Wang (Carleton University, Canada)